Nearly Universal Principles of Projects

يجب ان تكون دائما استباقيا

لدينا ميل طبيعي لنكون مستجيبين. يمكن أن يساعدنا ذلك في الحفاظ على طاقتنا في المجالات الغير مهمة، أو تحقيق نتائج جيدة عندما نعمل في مجال ليس لدينا فيه خبرة. تختلف هذه المواقف عن مشاريعنا، وللحصول على نتائج جيدة هنا، سيكون من الضروري أن تكون سباقا

مثال: تخطيط

إذا كنت ترغب في الوصول إلى مكان لأول مرة وتأخرت، يمكنك البدء في القيادة على الفور “لتوفير الوقت” والتعامل مع المشاكل المحتملة عند حدوثها. تتمثل الطريقة الاستباقية في قضاء بعض الوقت وإعداد “نظام تحديد المواقع العالمي” (GPS) لإعطائك أسرع طريق استنادًا إلى حركة المرور، والأعطال والعوائق المحتملة، ثم الشروع في القيادة؛ وهذا يعني، إعطاء نفسك الوقت للاستعداد قبل التنفيذ، لتجنب المشاكل في وقت لاحق وتوفير الوقت في النهاية.

على عكس ما يعتقد البعض بشأن مشاريع Agile، فإن التخطيط ضروري دائمًا؛ يختلف نوع ومستوى تفاصيل الخطط فقط من منهجية إلى أخرى. التخطيط قبل التنفيذ هو نهج استباقي.

تذكر المثل: “أعطني ست ساعات لقطع الشجرة وسأمضي الأربع ساعات الأولى في شحذ الفأس.”

إذا كان هذا مشروعًا تنبؤيًا ، فيمكنك قضاء 4 ساعات في شحذ الفأس لأنك متأكد من أنك تريد قطع شجرة. في مشروع Agile، لا تعرف ما إذا كنت ستقطع شجرة أو تقوم باستعادة الفروع المكسورة أو حصاد العشب أو استخراج الفحم أو أي شيء آخر. ومع ذلك، يجب أن تكون مستعدا دائمًا بشكل عام (اكتشف أين يقع أقرب متجر ادوات) وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا (شحذ الفأس) عندما تركز على حل معين. هذا هو التخطيط.

مثال: تخطيط المخطط

التخطيط لكيفية تنفيذ المشروع هو نهج استباقي. يمكن تمديد هذا النشاط الاستباقي من خلال تخطيط كيفية تخطيطنا للتنفيذ؛ إنه مفهوم خطة إدارة دليل PMBOK® واستراتيجيات إدارة PRINCE2® ونهج DSDM®.

مثال: تخطيط مستمر

نادراً ما يطابق الواقع توقعاتنا، وهذا أمر متوقع. ومع ذلك، يجب علينا تكييف خططنا باستمرار لضمان بقائها واقعية وعملية. يجب أن نفعل ذلك بمجرد الحاجة إلى التكيف، وليس عندما تنشأ المشكلات؛ هذا هو نهج استباقي.

مثال: إدارة المخاطر

تستند الفكرة الكاملة لإدارة المخاطر على نهج استباقي: في مواجهة الأحداث الغير مؤكدة، فبدلاً من الانتظار لمعرفة ما يحدث والرد عليها، فإننا نفكر في الاحتمالات والآثار، ونفحص الإجابات، ومن الممكن التصرف قبل وقوع الحدث.

لاحظ أن ما نقوم به في المشاريع جدي؛ في بعض الأحيان حياة البشر هي على المحك.

مثال: تحديد الادوار والمسؤوليات

يمكنك اختيار السماح لأعضاء الفريق في المشروع بالعمل دون تحديد أدوارهم ومسؤولياتهم بوضوح. في وقت لاحق، سوف تتضح بعض الادوار والمسؤوليات، لكنها مكلفة للغاية وقد لا تعمل. تتمثل الطريقة الاستباقية في تحديدها مبكرا في المرحلة الأولى من المشروع وملائمتها إذا لزم الأمر. هذا يجعل مهمة الجميع أسهل، ويمكن لأي شخص التركيز على تحقيق الفكرة أو الخدمة أو المنتج، بدلاً من تحديد من يفعل ماذا.

يعتمد عدد الأدوار وتنوعها على نوع وحجم المشروع. يمكن أن يكون تعريفًا بسيطًا مثل Scrum، وهو شيء معتدل مثل P3.express أو كامل، مثل تعريف DSDM® وPRINCE2®. ومع ذلك، ضع في اعتبارك أن تعريف الدور في هذه الأساليب ينطبق فقط على أنشطة الإدارة، ولا تزال بحاجة إلى إضافة تعريف الدور للجوانب التقنية.

مثال: الخيارات المتاحة

هل يجب عليك اغلاق المشروع قبل الأوان او الاستمرار فيه؟

لا يوجد نادرا الا خياران، حتى لو كان هذا هو ما يشير إليه السؤال. يجب عليك اتباع نهج استباقي وتحليل جميع خياراتك قبل اتخاذ القرار. ربما يمكنك تغيير مواصفات المشروع؛ ربما يمكنك التوقف حتى يصبح هناك شيء واضح للتطور؛ قد تتمكن من تغيير نهج المشروع (على سبيل المثال، اختيار جهة خارجية لمتابعة المشروع)، إلخ.

مثال: التفكير النقدي

لدينا جميعا احكام مسبقة تساعدنا على البقاء على قيد الحياة من ناحية، واتخاذ قرارات خاطئة من ناحية أخرى. عندما يتعلق الأمر باتخاذ قرارات مهمة بشأن المشروع، فمن الأفضل أن نأخذ الوقت الكافي للنظر في أي احكام مسبقة قد تؤثر على قرارنا قبل أن تصبح مشكلة.

للإشارة، يمكن استخدام قائمة التحيز المعرفي في ويكيبيديا:

https://ar.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D8%A7%D9%86%D8%AD%D9%8A%D8%A7%D8%B2_%D9%85%D8%B9%D8%B1%D9%81%D9%8A

هناك حتى أطر عمل لصنع القرار يمكنك استخدامها لتحسين عملية صنع القرار. في البداية، قد يكون الأمر مربكًا أو مزعجًا لاستخدامها، لكنك ستعتاد عليها سريعًا وتطبقها بدون مجهود بمرور الوقت.

مثال: الشفافية

نود أن نتجنب التأخر أو وجود أي مشكلة في المشروع، ولكن هذا لا يعني أننا يجب أن نخفي هذه الحالات إذا حدثت. كن شفافاً وأبلغ أصحاب المصلحة، حيث قد يتمكن بعضهم من مساعدتك. على أي حال، سوف يكتشفون في النهاية المشاكل ونتائجها عاجلاً أم آجلاً، وسيتعين على بعضهم التصرف بسرعة (على سبيل المثال، قبول النتيجة السلبية).

مثال: التواصل بنجاعة

قد تكون هناك العديد من الحالات التي ترسل فيها تقارير إلى أصحاب المصلحة ولا يقدمون لك أي تعليقات. قد تعتقد أن كل شيء على ما يرام لمجرد عدم وجود ردود فعل سلبية، على الرغم من أنه قد لا يكون كذلك. يجب أن تكون استباقيًا وتحقق لمعرفة ما إذا كانوا قد استخدموا بالفعل التقرير وما إذا كان قد خدم هذا الغرض، وجمع كافة الملاحظات لضبط طريقة الاتصال الخاصة بك؛ خلاف ذلك، قد تتسبب هذه المشكلة المخفية في حدوث مشكلات خطيرة لاحقًا، عندما يصعب حلها.

مثال: تحمل المسؤولية

من السهل إلقاء اللوم على الآخرين بسبب النتائج السيئة. على سبيل المثال، قد ترغب في ان تمنحك مؤسستك السلطة الكاملة لتغيير كل شيء في المشروع والقيام بذلك بشكل مثالي، لكنهم لا يفعلون، ونتيجة لذلك، يفشل المشروع. هذا ليس نهج استباقي.

النهج الاستباقي هو تحمل المسؤولية والقيام بكل ما تستطيع ضمن القيود. لا يمكنك أن تتوقع من المنظمة أن تثق بك تمامًا وأن تمنحك كل شيء على أمل الحصول على نتائج جيدة، خاصة عندما يكون هناك الكثير من المشاريع الفاشلة. ما عليك القيام به هو إضافة تحسين صغير ضمن القيود التي تم تعيينها، استخدم ذلك لكسب القليل من الثقة، والمزيد من الموارد والمزيد من التسامح مع القيود، ثم استخدم ذلك للحصول على تأثير إيجابي أكثر وضوحا.

discussion icon NUPP مفتوحة المصدر وتنشر مجانا بموجب ترخيص Creative Commons

discussion icon LinkedIn شارك برايك او اطرح أسئلة على هذه المجموعة في

discussion icon كتابة: Nader K. Rad

discussion icon تمت الترجمة بواسطة: Afef Mezzi

discussion icon The one-page version of NUPP, suitable for print or for making PDF files.

Nearly Universal Principles of Projects

Always be proactive

There’s a natural tendency in us to be reactive. It can help us preserve our energy dealing unimportant matters, or it may give us better results when we are dealing with something in which we’re completely incompetent. Those situations are different from our projects, and here we can get better results by being proactive.

Example: Planning

If you want to drive to a new location and you’re late, you can start driving immediately to “save time”, and deal with possible problems when they arise. The proactive approach is to take some time at the start and set your navigation system to give you the fastest route based on the traffic and possible accidents and blockages and then drive; that’s spending time before executing, to avoid problems later on and thus save time in the end.

In contrast to what some people think of Agile projects, planning is always necessary, and it’s only about the type and level of details in plans. Planning before executing is a proactive approach.

Remember the quote: give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the ax.

If it’s a predictive project, you may spend 4 hours sharpening your ax, because you’re sure that you’re going to chop down a tree. In an Agile project, you’re not sure if you’re going to chop down a tree, gather broken branches, harvest turf, mine coal, or something else. Nevertheless, you still need to have a general preparation for all of those (know where the nearest hardware store is), and have a specific preparation (sharpening) when you’re going to focus on a certain solution; that’s planning.

Example: Planning the planning

Planning the way we’re going to execute the project is a proactive approach. This proactivity can even be extended by planning the way we’re going to plan the execution; that’s the management plan concept of the PMBOK® Guide, management strategies of PRINCE2®, and approaches in DSDM®.

Example: Continuous planning

Reality rarely matches what we have planned, and that’s OK – but, we have to continuously adapt our plans to make sure they stay realistic and practical. We should do it as soon as adaptation is needed, and not when we run into problems. That’s a proactive approach.

Example: Risk management

The whole concept of risk management is based on proactivity: when facing uncertain events, instead of waiting to see what happens and then reacting to them, we think about possibilities and impacts, consider responses, and probably do something about it before it happens.

Note that what we do in projects is serious; it’s sometimes about people’s lives.

Example: Define roles and responsibilities

You can leave the project team members to work without clear roles and responsibilities, and sooner or later a form of roles and responsibilities will emerge, but it’s too expensive and may not work well after all. The proactive approach is to define them early and adapt them as needed. This makes working easier for everyone, and they can focus on producing something, instead of deciding who does what.

The number and variety of roles depend on the type and size of the project; it can be a simple definition such as the one in Scrum, something moderate such as that in P3.express, or something comprehensive like the ones in DSDM® and PRINCE2®. However, don’t forget that the role descriptions in these methods are only about management activities, and that you always need to add role descriptions for technical aspects as well.

Example: Available choices

Should you close the project prematurely or continue with it?

There are rarely only two choices, even if the question implies that. You need to have a proactive approach and consider all your choices before making a decision. Maybe you can rescope the project; maybe you can pause it until something else becomes clear; or maybe you can change the project approach (e.g., outsourcing), etc.

Example: Critical thinking

We all have many biases that help us survive on one hand, and fool us into making bad decisions on the other. When it comes to making important decisions about the project, it’s best to pause for a while and consider all biases that can impact our decision before they cause problems.

As a reference, you can use the list of cognitive biases given in Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cognitive_biases

There are even decision-making frameworks that you can use to make better decisions. At first, it may be distracting and even annoying to use them, but soon you get used to them and gain advantage from them without much conscious effort.

Example: Transparency

We don’t like being late in the project or having any other kind of problem, but it doesn’t mean that we should hide it. You should be transparent and let the stakeholders know, because some of them may be able to help you, and furthermore, they will know about the problems and their consequences sooner or later, and some of them may require early actions from their side (e.g., to accept the negative consequence).

Example: Communicate effectively

There may be many cases in which you send reports to stakeholders and they don’t give you any feedback. You may believe that everything is fine just because there is no negative feedback, although it may not be so. You have to be proactive and check to see whether they’ve really used the report and whether it has served the purpose, and use the input to adjust your method of communication; otherwise, this hidden issue may cause serious problems later, when it’s too difficult to fix.

Example: Take responsibility

It’s easy to blame others for poor results. For example, you may want your organization to give you full authority to change everything in the project and do it perfectly, but they don’t, and as a result, the project fails. This is not a proactive approach.

The proactive approach is to take responsibility and do everything you can within the constraints. You cannot expect the organization to fully trust you and give you everything in the hope of getting good results, especially when they have seen so many failed projects. What you have to do is to make one small improvement within the constraints that are set, use that to gain a little trust, a few more resources and a little more toleration for constraints, and then use that for a slightly bigger improvement, and carry on like that until you reach the optimum target.

discussion icon NUPP is open-source and published for free under a Creative Commons license.

discussion icon Share your opinion or ask questions on this LinkedIn page.

discussion icon Written by: Nader K. Rad

discussion icon The one-page version of NUPP, suitable for print or for making PDF files.