Nearly Universal Principles of Projects

الحفاظ على الطاقة والموارد وتحسينها

الموارد محدودة. الموارد المتاحة للمشروع محدودة، وكذلك الطاقة العقلية التي لديك لاتخاذ قرارات جيدة. يجب عليك الحفاظ على هذه الموارد وتحسينها لنفسك وللمشروع، ومساعدة أعضاء الفريق الآخرين على القيام بنفس الشيء.

مثال: القاعدة 80/20

يمكن تحقيق جزء كبير من الفوائد المحتملة لإدارة المشروع عن طريق بذل قليل من المجهود. في معظم الحالات، يكون استهداف 100٪ من الفوائد المحتملة باهظ التكلفة وغير مبرر. يجب تطبيق هذه القاعدة في كل ما نقوم به وحث البقية على القيام بنفس الشيء.

مثال: القرار عند التعب

نحن نستخدم مصدرًا وحيدًا للطاقة العقلية لاتخاذ جميع أنواع القرارات، وأيضًا للتعبير عن قوة الإرادة. إذا كنت تستهلك الكثير من هذا المصدر في اتخاذ قرارات غير ضرورية أو غير مهمة، فستكون لديك طاقة أقل لاتخاذ القرارات المهمة، مما قد يؤدي إلى نتائج سيئة. هذا أحد الأسباب التي تجعلك تتجنب الإدارة الصغرى (مبدأ “manage by exception” في PRINCE2®).

يمكن أن تكون النزاعات التي تدور حول الأفكار مفيدة، ولكن تلك التي تدور حول أشخاص عادة ما تكون ضارة للمشروع، ومن عواقب ذلك أنه يستنزف الطاقة العقلية لأعضاء الفريق. إذا لاحظت مثل هذه النزاعات، فعليك بذل قصارى جهدك للعثور على السبب الجذري وحله.

مثال: اهتم بنفسك

إن القرارات التي تتخذها وقوة الإرادة التي تعبر عنها تستخدم مصدر الطاقة العقلية لديك. من ناحية أخرى، يمتلئ هذا المصدر بالطاقة عند النوم وتناول الطعام بشكل صحيح. لذا، يجب أن تعتني بنفسك جيدًا: تأكد من حصولك على قسط كافٍ من النوم والراحة، وتناول الطعام جيدًا. إذا كانت لديك عادات أو مشاكل ضارة في النوم، فلا يتعين عليك التعامل معها بمفردك؛ هناك العديد من المختصين الذين يمكنهم مساعدتك في حل هذه المشاكل. قد يساعد النشاط البدني أيضًا في هذا المصدر للطاقة، على الرغم من أن الدراسات لم تصل بعد إلى نتيجة حاسمة في هذا الشأن.

حاول تشجيع أعضاء الفريق على القيام بنفس الشيء الذي تقوم به. أولاً، تأكد من أنهم يعملون بوتيرة مستدامة ودون الكثير من الوقت الإضافي. ثم، إذا كان لديك الخيار، فحاول تقديم طعام صحي ووجبات خفيفة ومشروبات أثناء اوقات العمل.

مثال: توازن الحياة مع العمل

الكثير منا يحب ما يفعله، لكن هذا ليس كل ما نحتاج إليه في الحياة. بنفس الطريقة التي تعمل بها على تحسين عملك، يجب أن تخطط وتنفذ الأفكار في حياتك الشخصية، بطرق تجعلها سعيدة وممتعة. عندما تكون أكثر سعادة، يمكنك أن تكون أكثر نجاحًا في العمل أيضًا. إذا استطعت، فحاول تشجيع أعضاء فريقك على فعل الشيء نفسه.

مثال: التحفيز

التحفيز مفهوم معقد. هناك بعض الموارد المفيدة حول هذا الموضوع، بالإضافة إلى العديد من المصادر غير العلمية. ومع ذلك، يجب عليك معرفة ذلك واستخدامه بشكل مستمر، لأنه يزيد من الطاقة العقلية للفريق وإمكانية تحقيق نتائج أفضل للمشروع.

يمكن أن يكون التحفيز بسيطًا مثل إخبار الناس أنك ممتن لعملهم الجيد بابتسامة لطيفة أو “شكر” بسيط. ومع ذلك، عليك أن تكون حذراً، لأن العديد من الأشكال الشائعة لتحفيز، مثل المكافآت النقدية الصغيرة، لها تأثير سلبي.

مثال: التعاون والعمل الجماعي

قد يكون للأشخاص المتعاونين في بعض الأحيان القدرة على تحقيق نتائج أفضل، ولكن الأهم من ذلك، أن البشر اجتماعيون ويستمتعون بالانتماء الى المجموعة. إذا تمكنت من إزالة الجوانب السلبية للعمل الجماعي وخلق بيئة ممتعة، فسيكون هناك أعضاء أكثر سعادة في المشروع.

يجب أن تكون حذرًا، لأن الناس مختلفون، والبعض يحتاج إلى وقت أكثر استرخاءً وتركيزًا وعزلة من غيرهم؛ إنه عادةً عمل موازنة.

مثال: ثقافة الفريق الواحد

هناك ميل للمساهمين في المشروع لإنشاء مجموعات فرعية والتسبب في توتر مع المجموعات الأخرى؛ على سبيل المثال، الأشخاص الذين يركزون على الجوانب التجارية للمشروع مقابل الأشخاص الذين يبنون المنتج. يستهلك هذا التوتر الكثير من الطاقة من كلا الجانبين، وهذا أحد الأسباب التي تجعلنا نحاول بناء ثقافة فريق واحد، حيث يعمل الجميع معًا لتحقيق نفس الهدف.

حكمة الحشد

عندما تلتقي مجموعة من الأشخاص المتنوعين ثقافيًا ويعملون في البيئة المناسبة، يكون من الممكن تحقيق نتائج جيدة جدًا وأفكار جيدة وأحيانًا حلول أفضل من تلك التي يقدمها خبير واحد.

إذا كان هذا الخيار في متناول يدك، فيمكنك استخدامه بانتظام من خلال سؤال أعضاء الفريق لمساعدتك في حل المشكلات الصعبة المرتبطة بالمشروع. بالإضافة إلى تحقيق نتائج جيدة، يسمح هذا النهج أيضًا لأعضاء الفريق بمعرفة أن آرائهم تؤخذ بعين الاعتبار وأنهم يلعبون دورًا مهمًا في المشروع، مما يعزز طاقتهم. النشاط رقم 26 من P3.express هو مثال لتطبيق حكمة المجموعة في المشاريع.

قائد المشروع الرائد

إذا كنت مدير مشروع، فإن معظم أنشطتك تيسيريه (أو على الأقل ينبغي أن تكون). من ناحية أخرى، قد تجد أن أعضاء الفريق مروا بتجارب سيئة مع قادة المشروع في الماضي، وأن هذه التجارب لها تأثير على علاقتهم معك: جزء من طاقتهم هو مخصص لتحليل سلوكك لاكتشاف التهديدات المحتملة بدلاً من الوثوق بك. في هذه الحالة، يمكنك تغيير عنوانك من مدير المشروع لقيادة قائد المشروع. بعد كل هذا، هذا ما تفعله بالفعل في المشروع.

discussion icon NUPP مفتوحة المصدر وتنشر مجانا بموجب ترخيص Creative Commons

discussion icon LinkedIn شارك برايك او اطرح أسئلة على هذه المجموعة في

discussion icon كتابة: Nader K. Rad

discussion icon تمت الترجمة بواسطة: Afef Mezzi

discussion icon The one-page version of NUPP, suitable for print or for making PDF files.

Nearly Universal Principles of Projects

Preserve and optimize energy and resources

Resources are limited. Resources available to the project are limited, as is the mental energy you have to make good decisions. You should preserve and optimize this resource for yourself and for the project, and help other team members do the same.

Example: The 80/20 rule

A large portion of the possible benefits of project management can be gained by expending a small portion of the effort. In most cases, targeting 100% of the possible benefits is very expensive and unjustifiable. You need to consider this rule in everything you do and encourage others to do the same.

Example: Decision fatigue

We use a single source of mental energy for making all types of decisions, and also to express willpower. If you use up a lot of this source on making unnecessary or unimportant decisions, you’ll have less energy for the important decisions, which may lead to poor results. This is one of the reasons you should avoid micro-management (the “manage by exception” principle of PRINCE2®).

Conflicts that are about ideas can be helpful, but those that are about people are usually harmful to the project, and one of the consequences is that it drains the mental energy of the team members. If you notice such a conflict, you should do your best to find the root cause and solve it.

Example: Take care of yourself!

The decisions you make and the willpower that you express use up your source of mental energy. On the other hand, this source is filled with energy when you sleep and eat properly. So, you should take good care of yourself: make sure you have enough sleep and rest, and eat well. If you have harmful habits or problems with sleep, you don’t have to deal with it alone; there are many specialists who can help you fix such problems. Physical activity may also help with this source of energy, although studies are not yet conclusive on this matter.

Try to encourage the team members to do the same as you do. First, make sure they work at a sustainable pace and without too much overtime. Then, if you have the choice, try to offer energetic, healthy food, snacks, and drinks during work time.

Example: Work-life balance

Many of us love what we do, but that’s still not everything we need to have in life. In the same way that you optimize your work, you should be planning and implementing ideas in your personal life, in ways that make it a joyful, happy one. When you’re happier, you can be more successful at work too. If you can, try to encourage your team members to do the same.

Example: Motivation

Motivation is a complex concept. There are some interesting and useful resources on the topic, as well as many more unscientific ones. Nevertheless, you should learn about it and use it continuously, as it increases the mental energy of the team and the possibility of achieving better results for the project.

Motivation can be as simple as letting people know that you’ve recognized their good work by a kind smile or a simple “thank you”. However, you need to be careful, because many of the common forms of motivation, such as small monetary rewards, have a negative effect.

Example: Collaboration and teamwork

People who are collaborating may sometimes have the power to create better results, but more importantly, humans are social and enjoy being part of a group. If you can remove the negative aspects of teamwork and create a pleasant environment, there will be happier team members in the project.

You should be careful, though, because people are different, and some need more relaxed, focused, and solitary time than others do; it’s usually a balancing act.

Example: One-team culture

There’s a tendency for different stakeholders to create or consider subgroups and cause tension with other groups; for example, people who are focused on the business aspects of the project vs. people who are building the product. This tension consumes a lot of energy from both sides, which is one of the reasons we should try to build a one-team culture, where everyone works together towards the same goal.

Example: The wisdom of crowds

When a large number of people with diversity get together and work in a facilitated environment, there’s the potential to get very good results, ideas, and solutions, that may be even better than those coming from single experts.

If you have that option, you can use it regularly to ask team members to help you solve difficult problems in the project. Beside the possibility of getting good results, it also allows team members to know that their opinions are appreciated and that they play an important role in the project, which in turn increases their level of energy. Activity #26 of P3.express is an example of using the wisdom of crowds in projects.

Example: Chief project facilitator

If you are a project manager, most of the things you do have a facilitation nature (or at least, should have). On the other hand, you may see that the team members have had bad experiences with project managers in the past, and that these experiences are impacting on their relationship with you: a portion of their energy is spent on analyzing your behavior for potential threats instead of trusting you. In that case, you can change your title from project manager into Chief Project Facilitator. After all, that’s what you really do in the project.

discussion icon NUPP is open-source and published for free under a Creative Commons license.

discussion icon Share your opinion or ask questions on this LinkedIn page.

discussion icon Written by: Nader K. Rad

discussion icon The one-page version of NUPP, suitable for print or for making PDF files.